X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• kendo...

what's the first day like for some of you guys? 'cause I really wanna take it but I feel like I'll be left out and stuff...if y'all know what I mean. Like I don't have all the right attire or equipment to start and it's just so confusing!
    k peace

also I don't mean to be spamming but also I don't know how I would sign up and it seems a bit intimmidating if I'd have to go all the way there and talk straight up to the sensei...haha.

Comment

First thing to do if find where a club is and then just go. What have you got to lose. I've been doing kendo for nearly ten years and I started in tracksuit pants and a t-shirt. It depends on the club but they often have a beginners class or section. Give it a go.

Comment

Find a dojo, find out who the contact for that dojo is, give them a call and ask them about joining. Cos it's over the phone, you don't need to feel intimidated. Chances are they will either let you know when the next beginners' class is starting or tell you what you'll be doing as a beginner/what the structure is. That way you will know something of what to expect.

It's always intimidating walking into a new group of people but you'll be fine

Comment

thanks guys I feel better now.

Comment

Some dojo take beginners at any time and teach them off to the side of the regular class, and some take them only at certain times in a beginner's class. You'll probably feel more comfortable if the dojo has a beginners' class so that you are with a bunch of people who are new. Don't worry about not having any of the stuff - you won't be expected to. At most they will ask you to buy a shinai (bamboo sword) before starting class, they cost $20-$30 for a beginners' one.

Comment

I would sugguest going in and watching a class. I started in August last year, at a small dojo which made it easier to not be nervous about the whole meeting new people thing.

Comment

thanks guys