X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interested in both

I'm new to kendo/iaido and i had a question. I found a dojo that is relatively close to my house and it teachs both kendo and iaido. The school charges only $40 a month for kendo lessons. However there's a iaido class before the kendo class and if you take both there's no extra charge. I'm more interested in kendo but i've been looking into iaido and it's starting to catch my interest. If i take both classes will it be benificial towards my kendo or will it hold me back. I know that there are a few people on the message board that do both but i'm not sure if they're doing both at the same time or stopped on and started anouther.

This depends on the person I think. Some of the older guys in my iai dojo say that iai complaments their kendo. One fellow who is 6 dan in kendo but has only been doing iai for 3 year says that it brought his trainning full circle.
    I on the other hand, just beginning iai myself, found that my kendo training made some of the basics of iai kind of awkward. Not particularly hard, just akward.
    All I can say for sure is that if I were in your position, I would take advantage of such a great opportunity.

Comment

Take both! You will benefit in both arts by studying both together. Stances, strikes, metsuke, and so on can all be used similarly. Not only that, but it gives you a better cultural picture and history of Japanese swordsmanship, it's tradition and etiquette.
      I only stopped doing kendo because I got a bad hernia in my back. Otherwise I'd still be doing that as well as my iaido.
      Good luck!

Comment

Indeed - it's a great opportunity. Go for it.

Comment

Does one need to master in kendo or iaido first or one can do both together?

Comment

Originally posted by counterattack
            Does one need to master in kendo or iaido first or one can do both together?