X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Everything about Kendo...

Hi. I'm new to Kendo. I'm 14 years old and I just started discovering Kendo this year. I want to join some kind of cool sport and Kendo seems to be the one. My friend has tried it before, he said it's great for me because I get angry alot and easily so I've been studing about it, it seems cool but I need to know some more things about it (I love the sound of when the swords hit). So I have a couple of questions:
    1. Could you take private lessons? I don't like being around a lot of people.

2. Does Age/gender really matter?

3. Does it hurt? (^^;;

4. How do you play it? How do you win/loose?

And I've been looking all over the place for kendo lessons but there aren't any, can anyone help with this? I live in Saratoga, New York (United States).
    Last edited by Sushi-Sama; 13th January 2007, 12:28 PM. Reason: messed up typing something

1.- If you find a sensei who accept it, why not? But you would be loosing the 95% of the essence and the quality of training
    2.- Not at all.
    3.- Depending on your bogu quality, but, sometimes, just a little bit
    4.- Do you have any idea what kendo is?

Comment

Originally posted by Sushi-Sama View Post
      Hi. I'm new to Kendo. I'm 14 years old and I just started discovering Kendo this year. I want to join some kind of cool sport and Kendo seems to be the one. My friend has tried it before, he said it's great for me because I get angry alot and easily so I've been studing about it, it seems cool but I need to know some more things about it (I love the sound of when the swords hit). So I have a couple of questions:
      Welcome, newcomer! You'll find a lot of people on this forum who are friendly and will provide you with accurate, insightful information.

1. Could you take private lessons? I don't like being around a lot of people.