Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question regarding #8000 Hakama

Well, hello there!

I'm about to buy a hakama and kendogi set from e-bogu, but I have a question regarding the hakama:

Should I buy a size too big, since the product is 100% cotton?
    I'm 170cm tall and according to their size chart, I should go for the 168-173cm ...or should I go for the 174cm?

I ask this, because this would be my first hakama and kendogi set... And since I have no experience at all on buying hakama/kendogi and I don't know how much it will shrink...

I would appriciate all your help!
    Sincerly
    Ilia

It shouldn't shrink that much at all, unless you're stupid enough to wash it and then throw it in the dryer.
    Just follow the chart at ebogu and you should get what you need... handwashing it (I've always just used the machine myself) and letting it hang dry might shrink it a LITTLE... but not really that much.

Comment

Thank you very much for you answer! I'm going for the chart :P

(wow, what a quick reply! I'm amazed over this forum xD)

Comment

If you're a lady and you're on the edge of sizes, I might go up a size. For men, usually we go down. As you are in the lower end of the range, I'd stick with the recommended size.

Comment

Check Tohobudogu.com. They have special price for gi and hakama set, can't beat that. However, they are not very popular around here.

Comment

Thanks for the replies! I am a guy and I'm checking out Tohobudogu.com right at this moment...

Comment

Originally posted by Neil Gendzwill View Post
              If you're a lady and you're on the edge of sizes, I might go up a size. For men, usually we go down.
              Is that from tying the waist higher, or does it have to do with women having more around the hips? I'd think that the big factor would be how long one's legs are relative to their height; some people are long-legged, and others have long torsos.