X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kendo and Sword Skill

I'm interested in taking up kendo, but I have a question. Could a skilled kendoka pick up a real sword and use it effectively? Or has kendo gone the way of fencing and moved more towards personal growth and/or competition fighting?

Now, there's nothing wrong with this movement if it has happened. And, just to clarify, I'm a realistic person - I'm not trying to turn myself into a samurai, or anything like that. I realize that sword skill isn't very useful in the modern world. I'm very interested in self-development and competition fighting. This is just an academic question.

I'm only a beginner still, but from what I understand, since Kendo (in whatever form it took back then) is meant to be based upon how Samurai's learned how to fight, they was meant to learn one strike equals one kill. So if Kendo is the same, you put everything you have in your first strike because in the end you only want to strike the once for the kill. I think what we learn in Kendo is close to it.

Forgive my humble concept.
    Last edited by IronWarrior; 26th October 2010, 10:18 AM.

Comment

Hm... Yeah, that makes sense.

I was almost too embarassed to ask, seeing as how kendo is the "way of the sword," but I've encountered a lot of martial arts that have moved a long way away from their roots. I mean, I understand that kendo isn't quite what the old samurai's learned, but it's based on what they learned, like you said. But, like, in European fencing? I doubt a modern fencer could pick up a rapier and do much more with it than some guy off the street. Which is a little disappointing.

...Not that there's anything wrong with fencing. I just like tradition, I guess.

Comment

Anyone who has practiced thousands of cuts with a shinai,
        and has spent time in free sparring or competitions