X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• asking senpai's for their advice after practice

Hello everyone, something similar to this was posted before but that was over a year before and I wasn't sure if anyone would respond to it or not :S. Anyway, my question is after practice (after we bow to the sensei and to the dojo) do we have to go up to *all* the people we jigeko-ed with and ask for their advice on whatever they noticed (I am fairly new to everything at my dojo so they are basically all my senpai's, with just 2 exceptions, and I went up to all of them after practice a few days ago and they all had good advice) however, by the time I'm done with one or two, all the rest are gone to change or packing up. So, basically I just wanted to know if I should disturb them while they are packing or if I should just go and change myself, and if I have to go up to all the people I jigeko-ed with.
    Sorry that it was so long, I just wanted to try to make it clear what my question/problem was

I can't find any problem with it, it's okay in my dojo.

Comment

alright thanks

Comment

This probably depends on how your dojo does things so watch how you sempai handle it. We usually just reserve that for sensei, not sempai.

Comment

It's quite normal to find and thank all those with whom you did keiko.

Of course, advice is best sought from the sensei or instructors, but is not necesary to ask all your sempai.

Comment

Probably good idea to ask to highest rank sampai or the one you keiko for longer time

Comment

I think it's appropriate to thank higher ranking sempai who may have put in extra time with you or worked with you on something in particular during keiko. It doesn't necessarily have to be done in such a formal manner as with your sensei. (ie. You could speak with them while you're both standing, after they've gotten changed.)

Comment