Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Attacking and defending from each Kendo/Kenjutsu stance.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Attacking and defending from each Kendo/Kenjutsu stance.

I'm new to japanese sword fighting, but I have experience fencing with epee and foil in Olympic format. I am trying to build a mini-game for D&D similar to the Jousting system in the original 1970's D&D booklets. This system will only be used when two sword fighters are facing off against each-other in an honorable duel, using a single standard katana wielded with both hands. Each turn will involve selecting a stance, and then choosing a single direction of attack. My questions are:
    • Given the possible directional attacks of: Vertical, Horizontal, Downward Diagonal Cut, Upward Diagonal Cut, and Thrust; what attacks can be initiated from each stance?
    • Given the directional attacks above, how would each stance defend against each attack? Would it be a parry or avoidance?
    I've only included the five "elemental" stances in this system: Chudan (Water), Jodan (Fire), Gedan (Earth), Hasso (Wood), and Waki (Metal); and I think I have a good understanding of each of their purposes and forms. I've already worked through these on my own, but I'm not satisfied that my results will stand up to the scrutiny of an experienced Kendo or Kenjutsu practitioner.

If anyone can make a well thought out response that I can integrate into my game rules, I'll cite you as a source if I publish them. Any insight as to "what might counter what" would be appreciated as well. I'm already aware that a Jodan vertical or downward diagonal attack can be countered by a quick thrust from Chudan or upward diagonal cut from Gedan since attacks from those stances would impact before the Jodan attack was completed.

An example response would be:
    • Jodan Attacks: Vertical, Downward Diagonal Cut.
    • Jodan Defenses:
      • Vertical: Parry
      • Horizontal: None