Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you do?

Silly question.

I was just wondering what would be the verb used for participating in the activity of kendo. Does one do kendo? Do you play kendo? See, to me using the term "playing" kendo kinda belittles it. And doing kendo just sounds wierd.

My solution for this kind of problem is to turn the noun into the verb itself. For example, I am an architecture student and therefore I do a lot of activities that surround architecture. Too many to go into detail about. So what do I do? I architecture! This is also especially helpful when creating entusiasm to people. "Hey, come on!! Let's Architecture!"

...so then i kinda do the same for kendo. "No, I can't talk right now, I have to kendo. Kendo like the wind."

Ummm.... I kind of lost on what you've mentioned, but usually I just say "I practice kendo". Hope it helps.

Comment

I agree!
      I always tend to think of myself as studying budo/kendo, as it's a serious and constantly challenging pursuit.

But anyway, verbing funs english.
      Let's enjoy kendoing.

Comment

i either study or learn kendo. nothing else seems to fit.

Comment

Originally posted by jastastic
          Silly question.

IMy solution for this kind of problem is to turn the noun into the verb itself. For example, I am an architecture student and therefore I do a lot of activities that surround architecture. Too many to go into detail about. So what do I do? I architecture! This is also especially helpful when creating entusiasm to people. "Hey, come on!! Let's Architecture!"
          it sounds silly. really. you're trying to change some hundreds of years of perfecting english. it's like saying.

"me fail english? it's unpossible!"

though the thought is understood, it sounds wrong.

~taganahan

Comment

There are many, many posts on this topic elsewhere. Give the search function a spin.

Comment