X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AMD vs Intel

In an effort to occupy my time, and stay an active member here, thought illd try a new debate.

So wich do you prefer and why? Im an AMD man myself(running a a socket940 Fx-53) . There just overal better processors, with shorter pipelines, vastly superior memory controllers etc.

Come on i know there are other computer dorks on this forum(actualy i go a step beyond dork, im a proffesionaly certified tech but hey....). I might also have to post pics of the new casemod im fixing to start(have to get the link cable for my phone)

BTW flames may not be were you would first think of for a thread like this,But if you think that, youve never seen a computer dork battle royale.........techno babble is a fun language to argue in

This is definite flame topic. It's fully as much religious zealotry as the Mac vs Windows vs Linux topics.

I'm using AMD where possible, I use Intel for my high powered embedded toys, VIA on low power embeddeds. AMD is currently my personal CPU choice for price/performance. Yeah, I might squeak an extra 5% performane out of a similar Intel system, in some cases, for only 80% more cost.

I'm also on the lunatic conspiracy theory fringe with the Wintel empire, especially with the timing of WinXP 64... just after Intel starts shipping and over a year after I had my AMD64.

And Drizzt... just ignore that other thread...

Comment

I am a "I don't give a shit as long as it runs fast" kind of person. I am currently running a Pentium 4 of 3,2 GHz which I am very pleased with.
      Next processor might very well be a AMD, but that will be in quite a few years. Probably after I get my Masters in Computer Engineering (only three and a half years to go, weee!), until then I don't think I'll have the money. Especially not since kendo and iaido takes up a lot of my money

Comment