X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Real Kendo starts at 4th Dan.....?

.....this is something a Shodan friend of mine had said to him, and passed on to me as a "so they say" kind of statement.

Just wondered if anyone had any insights on this - I dont think I'll get to find out first hand for a good five/ten years or more....

As a complete novice I am getting a huge amount from Kendo already (maybe it was the 20 year delay in getting started...), so this comment intrigues me a little....Does anyone who has this rank or beyond know what this is supposed to mean?

Dave

Funny, I thought it started at 8th dan ?!?!?!

But seriously, if your friend is a shodan then how can he possible know what he is talking about (following on from his comment -> by his own admission) !!!

Just keep practising.

Comment

Oh thanks George !
      I am the shodan guy from the message.
      i was just passing opinion given to me by JP Raick, kyoshi nanadan. He may be wrong and I admit I may not understand what he meant, but I would not risk such a statement of my own !
      BTW, I also thought it all started at 8thh dan :-) and anyhow, it really depends on what one means by "really starts", I suppose...
      cheers,
      Antonin

Comment

Hi George

...yeah, I did say this to him! To be fair (as I hinted) he was passing it on as a comment made to him, not something he was being strident about. It came out of a conversation about whether 1st Dan was a big deal or not in Kendo, relative to, say, Karate, where it seems like the ultimate goal for a lot of people. My Shodan friend refers to his grade as "advanced beginner", and this is the general impression I get from others. Is it that Kendoka are just more modest, or have a longer path in mind....?

Regards

Dave

Comment

Hey Antonin

Wasnt wishing to "drop you in it" by the way, just thought it might make for an interesting topic for discussion! (hence not naming you..)