X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• books glorious books...

Ok guys, I was wandering if I could use this thread to get you kendokans to share information about good books that you have read about kendo, or even the practice of japanese swordmanship...I really want to get started on some reading...so does anyone have any recommendations that they would like to share, also please say why?

Kendo: The Definitive Guide, by Hiroshi Ozawa and published by Kodansha international was of great help when I was a beginner. It's not as definitive as the name says but a good source of information anyway.

Comment

Originally posted by alexpollijr
      Kendo: The Definitive Guide, by Hiroshi Ozawa and published by Kodansha international was of great help when I was a beginner. It's not as definitive as the name says but a good source of information anyway.
      oops, maybe i should note down what i have read so far, which is not that much...anyhoo, i have read the one that you have just mentioned (nice illustrations and stuff, just suits a person of my calibre), also i have read "Kendo: An essential introduction to the principles and practice of the Japanese art of swordmanship" by Minoru Kiyota. Anyway thanks for trying.

Comment

Besides Ozawa's book, another good set of books are Classical Bujutsu, Classical Budo, and Modern Bujutsu and Budo, by Donn F. Draeger. It is a interesting set of books to read on the history of martial arts and ways in Japan.

Comment

Ok, so I'm an addict

Here goes with ones I've read..

I agree the Ozawa book is not the be-all-and-end-all, but it is really good and spends a fair amount of time at my side being re-read yet again. Its the most "useful" Kendo book I've yet found...

The "spiritual / historical" side is covered well by Minoru Kiyota, but make sure you buy the Shambala edition as it is about 1/10th the price of the original!