Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Insight for Japanese language class paper on job atmosphere in Japan Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Insight for Japanese language class paper on job atmosphere in Japan

Good afternoon,

I haven't posted on KW in a while, but writing this paper, I figured it would be a good place to gather some insights into my topic.

In a little more detail, I am writing a paper (4000字) for my Japanese language class about job atmosphere in Japan. My approach is essentially to talk about customs and social structure in the work place, and the reasons behind those things. I also am working to tie in comparisons with Japanese school culture and American work culture, as I have some first hand experiences in those areas that I can draw from. I want to use my findings to draw conclusions about Japanese culture as a whole, to gain a deeper understanding of a place that means so much to me.

So, just based on that, if anyone has something they would like to share, I welcome your contributions!

But that said, I was hoping some of you with experience working in Japan (in any capacity) might answer a few questions.

1. In your opinion, what makes the Japanese workplace unique? What would you consider some of its defining features?

2. If there are any negative things about Japanese work atmosphere/culture, what are they? How would you change them if you could?

3. Are there positive aspects you wish other cultures adhered to? What makes these things in particular positive?

4. In what ways do you find the culture of the Japanese workplace to relate and/or differ from Japanese culture in general (or other subcultures within it?)

Feel free to write in Japanese or English, whichever you feel is most appropriate.

Any form of insight you are willing to share would be greatly appreciated.