X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shinkendo?

I'm only a semi-uneducated nOOb, but I am curious. For all practical purposes, is shinkendo the same as kenjutsu? I find the idea of kenjutsu much more appealing to me thaneither kendo or Iaido for several reasons. Iaido is out of the question due to the fact that a congenital birth-defect causes it to end in a stump, which would be unsuitable for drawing. Kendo uses shinai more than bokuto for sparring, and they emphasis a two handed grip. However, you can hold a bokuto and a katana fairly easily in one hand.

Anyway, off topic I know, but are they the same? If not does anyone here have suggestions for my unique situation?

Shinkendo is gendai budo (modern martial art) that incorporates elements of kenjutsu, iaido and kendo. You would have to check with them to see if they could incorporate your disability. However anything to do with drawing the sword would be difficult as one hand holds the saya and the other draws.

Kendo would be tough, but managable for you. If I were teaching you, I would recommend katate-jodan (single-handed high position) as the way to go.

Comment

[QUOTE=Neil Gendzwill]However anything to do with drawing the sword would be difficult as one hand holds the saya and the other draws.[QUOTE]

Is there a stance in Iaido where you keep the saya in the obi, hold it with your hand and draw the blade that way? That seems more possible.

Comment

That's what I'm talking about. You grip the koiguchi (saya mouth) and pull it back as you draw the blade out. This is called sayabiki. I suppose a modified version where you brace the koiguchi with your stump and draw could half-ass work, but you wouldn't be able to turn the saya, which is necessary to facilitate the draws at various angles. Clearing the tip out of the saya without pulling it back is also hard.

Comment

Saya-Biki