Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dealing with kendo politics

Hi everyone,

I've been practising kendo for a couple of years now (still a novice) and I really love the technical aspect of it as well the great friendships I've formed. I've taken a short break due to some commitments and am considering returning but what has really stressed me about going back is the politics.

By nature, I'm fairly reserved, self-conscious and perhaps a bit sensitive to awkward social situations. Harder than the kendo itself is trying to deal with behaviour I encounter in my club.

I've come across several seniors at my club (and other clubs) who really try to pull rank on the lower grades and treat people very differently based on skill level (just automatically scornful and unfriendly towards lower grades). There's one senior who is always angry towards juniors and clearly shows disgust when you greet them but then will point out if you decide to not greet them (like a one way respect). Another senior seems to think it's okay to eye roll when you mess up a cut or just shoulder barge you without apology when walking past.

I understand that seniors and senseis would be treated with higher regard but I believe that every member in the club deserves a basic level of respect and feel welcome. If I were to become good at kendo, I would never treat lower grade people with less respect (just like in my day job, I don't treat people with less experience with less respect).

I also feel problems with behaviour are a lot worse in martial arts (compared to other recreational activities or even the workplace) since there seems to be a culture of just being compliant with everything and that the authority is always right. As such, problems which could be ironed out or nipped in the bud fairly straightforwardly end up festering unnecessarily.