X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Feedback needed on diagram please!

I contructed this diagram to help myself visualise the different timing concepts in kendo. I have checked it as far as I am able to, so if anyone has any feedback or corrections they would be gratefully received! I am more than happy for people to copy it and use it as a resource if it is found to be correct or once it has been corrected. I'm sure it will start some discussion whatever happens. Let me know what you think.

b

Looks pretty damn good to me. I am a noob so not sure on the wazas but the diagram is very clear, well laid out and to be honest looks cool!

Comment

Ben - that is one bloody good diagram!!

Comment

Maybe it would be good to add ai-uchi waza in Okosu no tokoro

Comment

Aiuchi in okosu - splendid!

Of course! [slaps forehead] Thanks Lloro! Exactly why I posted here. I'll collect everyone's comments and repost a version 2.

b

Comment

Hi Ben,

There is a similar diagram in "Nito-Ryu no Waza to Riron".

I'll check it when I get home.

BTW, I mention the above book because it changes the explanation of sen to "when you take the center".

FWIW.

Comment

I believe the three timings are sen no sen, sen sen no sen and go no sen.

Comment

http://www.kendo-usa.org/reference/studyguide.htm

Originally posted by Neil Gendzwill
                I believe the three timings are sen no sen, sen sen no sen and go no sen.
                Really depends on "who's" mittsu-no-sen you are talking about. Below is copied from the STUDY GUIDE FOR KENDO PROMOTIONAL EXAMINATION from Kendo USA website.

Mittsu-no-sen or the three attacks. According to Miyamoto Musashi there are three sen:

-Ken-no-Sen, you attack just before the opponent.

-Tai-no-Sen, the opponent attacks first but you strike first and win.

-Tai-Tai-no-Sen, both attack at the same time but your cut is first and wins.

Takano Sasaburo explained the mittsu-no-sen as: