X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• .?..Nagoya..?.

My name is Adam. I am a university student at Indiana University and have been studying kendo for about 2 years. This fall I will be an exchange student in Nagoya ( Nanzan University ) and was hoping someone knows something, anything about kendo in Nagoya. I seriously wish to study while I am there for a year. I've heard that if the University Club is not so great I could study with the police. Is that true? But, any advice to prepare myself in anyway is much appreciated. thanks

Kendo at Uni's

I've only been over to Japan once for a short time.

I went to Kyoto, I found the standard at the University very very good. Obviously all uni's are different but, from the couple of dojo's I saw while I was out there. They where great.

From what I have been told (I could be wrong so don't take this as gospel) you wouldn't be able to pracyice with the police unless you where introduced, by someone who was either of high standing or well know at the police dojo.

I obviously can't coment about you but my major problem was my fitness, as I was not up to the standard of the Students at the Uni.

So my only advice would be to try ad get as fit as possible.

Good luck with Kendo in Japan, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
    Last edited by GMason; 16th May 2002, 07:01 PM.

Comment

thanks

Gareth

Thanks for the reply. I've always taken my physcal training rather serious... but, I do plan to pick it up a step or two to prepare. I appreciate the support... thanks again... adam

Comment

Adam,
        I am travelling to Nagoya in July to meet up with my Sensei from the UK who now works and lives in Nagoya. I believe (don't quote me on this) that there is a Dojo about and hour away from Nagoya at which he trains. I will find out in July whereabouts it is and let you know. I believe that Mr Mason is correct in saying that you must first be invited to train at a police dojo.