X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ahh help, Kendo near Ueno (In Tokyo)?

I'm living about 5 mins from Ueno, I want to start Kendo. I'm a total beginner to Kendo. Anyone know of a club around here to join?

I'm also looking for a Judo or MAYBE a karate club if anyone knows one.

Go to the nearest Police box Koban and ask them. You can also ask at the Zen Ken Ren office. Not the best way to find a dojo in Japan, but if you are polite, and sincere, you can probably find you way to a nearby club.

If you go to Noma Dojo (7-8 AM) in Gokokuji, you could ask about locating a kendo dojo near Ueno. Several of the sensei/senior-people there speak English.

BTW, it might be better to pick one budo to start with and then if you have enough mental battery power leftover you could add Judo and Karate after 5-6 months of kendo. If you take up kendo in Tokyo you will be able to fill every day with top level instruction, and still not learn enough (or so it will seem).

Good luck, bonne chance, Gambatte.
    Last edited by R Stroud; 9th May 2008, 06:48 AM.

Comment

Where do you work (if you work)? Sometimes I feel it is better to plan kendo after work (and it is good excuse to leave the office before 8pm!).

Comment

Asa geiko is the solution to the never ending Japanese business_day/drinking_fest

Comment

Originally posted by R Stroud View Post
          Asa geiko is the solution to the never ending Japanese business_day/drinking_fest
          I was told that Asa geiko was the best way to fix a big hang over and the lack of sleep sweating out the residual alcohol and toxins out of your system. Maybe that's just for the virile twentysomethings!