Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring time training in Tokyo

Greetings everybody!
    I have been browsing through these forums for a couple of years and now I am in need of some advice. I will be working in Tokyo, Minato-ku, Shimbashi in a period from 11th of April till 23rd of May this year. I am honestly willing to spend as much time training as possible. I still do not know where is my apartment gonna be, but I guess it will be somewhere in, or near Minato-ku. If someone can recomend some dojos in the stated area I would be very grateful. My rank is 2nd kyu, I possess some knowledge of basic to intermediate Japanese. I am an active competitor, and my country's last year's national team member.Thank you in advance.

You're best off if you can get an introduction through your sensei (if your sensei doesn't know directly he/she can ask his/her sensei). Short of that ask your Tokyo colleagues though you may in fact be surprised how few adults practice kendo (marginal activity and work generally keeps people in the office late). Budo shops are another source of information.

You can also try these listings though they are far from complete and not necessarily up to date:

Tokyo-to Kendo Renmei (only covers inner 23 special wards): http://www.tokyo-kendo.or.jp/keiko/index.html
    Minato-ku subsection: http://www.tokyo-kendo.or.jp/keiko/2...03.html#minato

Ku level renmei often have weekly practices. Tokyo-to also hold practices: http://www.tokyo-kendo.or.jp/keiko/keikokai-index.html

If you can't read Japanese the top row is godokeiko, middle row is kendokeiko and bottom row is koryukeiko. They are held at the Tokyo Budokan in Adachi-ku (not Nippon Budokan near the Imperial Palace).