X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• More spam on the forum?

Now about eight! messeges with people asking us to by DVDs and stuff. I don't come here for this crap! Why arn't the topics deleated yet?

I'm no computer expert, by a long stretch of the imagination, so this may be a redundant question, but is there no way of stopping automated registration engines from creating entries?

Comment

Musha, I'm sorry I don't check the forums every waking moment for spam to delete.

The great I AM, I have tweaked some settings to prevent it from happening again.

Comment

See Musha, big brother is watching. Ta Hamish.

Comment

i dont understand that kind of spam in this forum?! maybe some kind of mental confusion ;-)

Comment

Spam bots search the internet for forums, usualy stale ones to spam. They can usualy be stoped with things like auto generated gif image numbers because they don't work by viewing the web page like we do.
            I'm sure this site has things to stop auto bots like these though.

Comment

No matter what you do, there will always be a loophole. Everytime you make a new measure, there is someone out there sitting in a dark basement trying his/her best to thwart the system. They do the best they can, but if they get through, they get through. All we can do is to keep patching up the holes and finding new holes before the bots get through.

Comment

I've just seen another 3 enter the forum boards. Dam. Maybe there is some legal recourse against the intrusion? Don't know, though I suspect that that is a bit much for forum protection. I guess we'll just have to put up with it for now...

Comment

Often, you come off like an ungrateful, pushy arsehole - like this one.
                  Oh I just noticed I got a reputation for this post . Thank you that man, glad you had enough time from rocking in your char in a smok shouting insults at little kids to think of me. I love my fans, even the secret ones .

Comment