Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'll be blunt, help me buy a bogu

Hi,

I've been practicing kendo for a couple of months and i'm in no hurry to jump into a bogu set. I'm even wondering if i got into a gi-hakama a bit too soon...

However, i am in a kind of a hurry to buy a bogu set now, since i may have a friend bring it with him from the US and save me the cost of shipping and customs.

I've been reading the f.a.q. and the board here, but i actually found them confusing.

It seems that the term "cheap" is very relative, and it seems to be ranging from $250-$600. I would dare (look at my location) call $250 or the cheapest one from e-bogu (the 6mm one) cheap. $500+ i'd consider a serious investment, and in between, i guess would be reasonable.

One of my fellow kendokas ordered the 5/2,5mm set from e-bogu and it ended up costing him 500 euros in the end (twice the products cost) with all the s&h charges and custom duties.

If i have the opportunity to save this kind of money, should i go for the cheapest possible set for now, and save the money to buy something better later, or should i use this unique opportunity (xmas discounts, no s&h, taxes) to get something better to start with?

I've been thinking of spending $400-$600 (at most) if it would make any sense and if it's worth the extra quality, life-span, protection and such, when compared to the cheapest bogu. I don't really care how a bogu looks like and the last thing i want to do is attract attention as a beginner in a fancy bogu.

This is what i came across while surfing. Any help is appreciated.

1. The cheapest thing on e-bogu, the 6mm one
    2. 5/2.5mm eone from e bogu, this price is reasonable, i don't mind spending that much
    3. 4/2mm e-bogu, what would be the advantage of this bogu over the others? More flexibility, less protection, the other way around, or superior on both ways?