Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Muryama or KendoStyle? Going tomorrow....Any help would be very appreciated Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Muryama or KendoStyle? Going tomorrow....Any help would be very appreciated

Hello everyone,
    My name is Bryan and I am new to Kendo. I have only been going to class a month or so but I have enjoyed watching and have been fascinated with kendo for many years. Tomorrow (Sunday the 7th) I'm going to two bogu companies in the San Jose area and I'm not sure if their products are very similar in quality but I think I need a little extra help to figure out which company makes a better bogu. I have read the bogu facts post and looked up lots of different information about bogu but I'm still brand-new and don't know enough about these companies or bogu in general to make an accurate decision.

The first company I am going to is Muryama & the second company is kendo style. The guy at Kendo style told me he was running a special, 2 mm bogu for $800.
    I think the guy at Muryama wants more like $900 or $1000, but I'm not %100 sure on that!

I asked them both if they were made of deer hide or synthetic materials and both told me dear hides and other high quality materials.
    A few of the students at my club have bogu by Muryana, But nobody has any by Kendo style. I wonder if this is because of the quality difference or if they just like the guy?

Some people have given me advice to get something simple and inexpensive as my first set of Bogu. I really don't know if I want to do that and this is my thinking why....

Number one, I am definitely not the type of person to take up something and not follow through %100 so good quality bogu would not be a waste in my opinion.