Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Those first difficult steps in bogu...

I've been lurking around these forums for a while now and have absorbed a lot of useful information, and I feel it's finally time I made my first post.

As a beginner to Kendo (about six months in) and a total beginner to bogu (just had my first few sessions), I thought I'd add my thoughts on the experience to any other newbies just getting to the 'bogu hump'. From what I've both read and heard, a quite high percentage of newbies, after training for several months with that 'golden moment' of getting into armour as a much-anticipated 'next step' up ahead, finally get the go ahead to get into said armour, freak out, and then drop out. This is a universal problem in Kendo, from what I understand, and obviously something that plagues many dojos. Why is this?

From my first few sessions in bogu, I can understand a little of this, as I'm sure many others can, if they can remember their first experiences too.