X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about shinai

Hi, I am new to Kendo and was wondering how long the traditional bamboo shinai usually lasts. I was also wondering if the cracking of the shinai means that it needs to be replaced. I have filled the crack with wood glue, but I don't see this being a good long-term solution.

Thanks!

Originally posted by lancerwilliams
    Hi, I am new to Kendo and was wondering how long the traditional bamboo shinai usually lasts. I was also wondering if the cracking of the shinai means that it needs to be replaced. I have filled the crack with wood glue, but I don't see this being a good long-term solution.

Thanks!
    Actually, gluing the shinai is not even a good short term solution. It's actually quite dangerous to use, particularly when practicing waza with a motodachi. If only one bamboo stave is cracked, then it can be replaced, rather than buying a new shinai... some other kendoka may have extra staves, ask around. But, if your only options are buying a new shinai, or having your shinai break again over someone's head, buy a new shinai. Oh, and bamboo splinters suck way worse than normal wood splinters...

Comment

cracked/splintered shinai is UNFIT to be used. Filling the crack with glue is not a solution at all. It is still quite dangerous as it will crack again within hours of use. The reason that this is so dangerous is that these splinters may go into people's eye, etc. during practice. Do not use it. As Kendokajim said, get a replacement stave from anyone you know or get a new shinai (obviously save the good staves from the old one so that you can use them in the future.)

Comment

Sounds great, thanks.

Comment

How often do you find yourselves raplacing shinai or shinai staves?

Comment