X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Indigo or white?

I just had a question about the color of Keiko-gi. Many of the beginners, well, essentially everyone has indigo cloths on yet; there are two people within the more experienced class that have white keiko-gi. I'm just a beginner and I asked someone about it and they said traditionally white was for beginners. Has anyone else heard this?

I'm not going to go out and purchase anything yet, at least for 10 weeks until the beginner class ends - I don't want to cover up my footwork.

Cheers!

Indigo.. I heard white is for woman or Japanese Police department(special department).. I just assumed you are male. Indigo is cool color !!!

Comment

Depends on the school. Some schools set the white top for beginners. Most schools just stick with the Blue..But now a days there really isnt any real set standard...Just abide by your particular dojo's rules...Look at the whole Korean National team...The are all white, men and women... I would get the white for regular practice...When you are doing all the stretches, etc...and heavy work out...it picks up stain fast from you and the dirt off the ground...When you start wearing the bogu then it will start to turn blue...
      White really looks cool because you stand out and is a different look but its a pain to keep clean.

Comment

White tends to be worn only by women in Japan and to be worn by just about everyone in Korea.

Outside of Korea I haven't seen very many men wearing white. It is also rare for women to wear white.

It may be helpful when making your choice to have an understanding of why white was introduced.

My understanding of that history is that during the American occupation of Japan, kendo was banned. Then the Americans realised that they weren't being particularly successful in banning kendo and so they allowed people to practice kendo, but required the kendoka to wear white.