Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shrinking my hakama

hey there fellow swordsmen/women,

Ive been doing kendo for 5 months now and recently got my lovely gi and 10000 hakama from e-bogu (does that make me a rich boy show off?) and ive noticed that the hakama hangs just a little low, touching the top of my feet. I wear it quite high already so i cant really pull it up any more, and so i was thinking about putting it in a warm wash and shrinking it a little. Is this a good idea? I don't think it would shrink much, and if it shrank a little i think it would fit perfectly.

If this is plausible and im not mad, what would be the best way to go about shrinking it? I don't want to put it in the washing machine as it would feck up all the pleats, so would putting it (folded) into a bucket of warm water shrink it?

Hope someone can help me!
    Last edited by Nero; 3rd May 2004, 09:29 AM.

so loud!!!

Originally posted by Nero
    hey there fellow swordsmen/women,

Ive been doing kendo for 5 months now and recently got my lovely gi and 10000 hakama from e-bogu (does that make me a rich boy show off?)
    No, but that certainly makes your uniform speak lounder than your kendo. Puhahahahahahaha. .. ...

Comment

Nero - try lukewarm water. Normally cotton hakama will shrink a little after a few washes.

Comment

Just hem and stitch the bottom.

Comment

You don't like it touching the top of your toes? I thought the hakama was supposed to conceal footwork, so shouldn't that be a good thing? I like to have mine at that length.

Comment

Hi! It can get a bit dangerous if it's too long though. Tripping on hakama can lead to serious falls. The correct hakama length should result in the hemline "cutting" right across the ankles; it should be slightly higher at the back and lower in front. My hakama was a bit long as well (about 1 inch), and I just got the local seamstress to pull up the hem a bit; took a day and cost me like $5.

Comment