X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new bogu questions

I am relatively new to kendo, just received my bogu, and have a few questions.

1. My men is very stiff and restrictive, I have been folding and unfolding the flaps to help loosen them up. Is there a proper way to tie up the men to mold/shape it when in storage?

2. When performing men strikes, after the strike when you are following through should the receiver get out of the way, or should you side step past them? Or a combination of the two? The steps I perform without bogu has me clipping the receiver when I have it on.

3. Is there any way to improve hearing in the men. I can barely hear anything when it is on and I think it is slightly pressing on my ears, which does not help my hearing (yes, it is the right size).

Thanks!

Dave

1. The Men will break-in with time. I was instructed to fold the wings and tie them up to put in the bag when go to the practice, but at home, I just lay them flat, no tie up.

2. When perform Men, You should go straight through and the receiver will obligate to let you go through, otherwise, Just push with your hands to go through. Anyway, just go straight through.

3. For me, after I tie my Men, I will grap the wing and pull it a little to create some relax for my ears, but you will develop the super hearing later with Men on.

Comment

Originally posted by sketchy
      1. My men is very stiff and restrictive, I have been folding and unfolding the flaps to help loosen them up. Is there a proper way to tie up the men to mold/shape it when in storage?