X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wearing bogu

I just come to this idea out of blue after practicing kendo yesterday. I want to know what is basic rule for someone to be allowed to wear bogu? (in my dojo, beginners are not allowed to wear bogu, unless there is a 'permition' from our sensei to do so).

To begin with, I started kendo about 4 months ago. Currently I'm a university student in the Netherlands. My reason to do kendo is that because I heard a lot that kendo trains people both physically and mentally. When I started kendo I was having a lot of problems at school, but I think that the source of the problem was actually myself. That's why I decided to 'work out', and I think that kendo is a good art to release daily life pressure and also to think about my whole approaches, where did I went wrong, to come up with answers for my problems.

Then I started to really go through kendo. So far, many of my sempai say that I make good progress in techniques. My sensei also give compliments sometimes. Even I think I start to catch up with my fellow friends (beginners) there who started earlier than me. But recently I begin to think when can I wear bogu, because I think to do sparring (ji-kaiko? please correct me from wrong) is the essence of kendo, and I wish that I can wear bogu soon so that's why I try to do my best in learning basic techniques. I come up with a lot of answers about the causes why I can't get the bogu yet. But I still can't figure out the exact answers.

Actually is there any kind of rules about when is the normal time to wear bogu, for example after 5 months or some.., and the reasons why some persons are allowed to wear bogu while others are not yet?

Your Sensei will usually tell you when it's time to wear Bogu.
    You may think you want to get into it as soon as possible, but generally only your Sensei should make that call.
    My 2 cents.

P.s. Welcome to the forums.

Comment