Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bad attitude

Hello guys...
    So I've been doing Kendo for several months now, and there is one thing at my dojo bugging me.
    It's my sempai. Whenever our sensei tells us to practice together with the bogu-kendoka (i'm not in bogu yet) this sempai makes some annoying gestures, like, he acts annoyed, shakes his head... "uh..." You know...
    He just simply seems to hate the beginners, because they "slow him down" in his Kendo. So basically he just thinks of himself and disrespects us Kohei. His whole aura in jigeiko is messed up too... He's like a mad demon trying to kill his opponent...
    I've been planning to tell my sensei about his messed up attitude. (or even tell him in person)
    Because it's just not fun to practice with someone who doesn't want to.

What should I do?

When you practice with him show you are better than him by not letting that effect you and maybe smile when he hits you when you are in armour to show that you are enjoying yourself?
    Hopefully that makes sense and isn't complete nonsense.

Comment

Drop a deuce in his men jk..

Don't let it bother you too much. People like him drop out of Kendo eventually.

Comment

Well that happens sometimes.. as a senpai he should be learning more responsibility but it seems he isn't ready for that or can't accept it. Unfortunately it impacts you but I wouldn't really worry too much about it. As Badger said just try to concentrate on doing your best kendo despite the distraction. If it gets to a point where you are starting to feel like dropping out because of him you might try talking to some of the other beginners to see if they feel the same way. If they do then perhaps you can talk to the sensei but I would try to deal with it by just working on your own kendo first.

Comment