Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "San-do" - Faster or Slower progress?

Hi everyone,

I've been practicing Kendo, Iaido and Jodo (which makes for "San-do") for as long as I've been practicing (since 2004 approx.).
    Having recently participated in International Kendo Taikai, I've started to wonder - does practicing all three arts really contributing as I've always felt, or is it perhaps hurtful for my individual progress in each art?

I know Shiai should not serve as a measurement for my Kendo level, but I can't help but feel that had I spent all my time solely on Kendo I might have had better results.
    Of course that dropping Iai and Jo wouldn't mean practicing Kendo in that time instead, since there is no practice at that time in most cases - but even adding one more practice a week could be helpful - but on the expense of Iaido and Jodo? I can't help but wonder.

What is your take on the matter? Do you feel Iaido and/or Jodo help improve your Kendo, or slow it down?

Hi Kanoken,

Well, I think you're asking a much more complicated question. I've tended to find that performance during shiai isn't always so straight forward.

How often do you practice Kendo? How often do you compete in shiai? Does your dojo focus on shiai? What is your competitive mindset on the day of shiai? Which is more important to you personally, winning a point or executing the best waza?

Comment

Undoubtedly.

Comment

Since you've been at all three longer than I have to wonder if what I say below isn't already well known to you. Anyway, here goes...

I also practice all three but picked them up overtime. Sometime after I passed shodan in kendo I started iaido. Then soon after I passed shodan in iaido I started jodo.