X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Books on kendo

I'm only a beginning student (4th kyu) but sometimes when at home I think to myself "would this and this work?" or "how exactly was I supposed to do that again?"

I know learning from a teacher is infinitely better than a book, but often times my bonehead memory (or sometimes a yellow belly) makes me not ask at practice whether "this and this would work"

anyway what i'm getting at is, do you fellas know of a good book that explains the basic techniques and concepts? Mind you, I dont think i'd use it to replace my teacher, but use it as a supplement or reference of sorts.

I remember hearing of something like "inside to kendo" or something

I have Kendo: The Definitive Guide ... wich I find very helpfull

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...750862-6513612

Every web site on kendo seems to mention Fundamental Kendo put out by the All Japan Kendo Federation as a must have.. only place I know of to get it is from the AJKF and you need a fax machine to contact / order it wich I don't have

Kendo Fundamentals (I & II Set)

http://www.kendo.or.jp/english-page/...and-videos.htm

Next to those i'd say you can't beat Kendo World forums here for great info to read And unlike the forums you can't ask a book a question

hope helps

Comment

Books

I am beginner myself (6th Kyu) and I have found the Definitive Guide to Kendo by Hiroshi Ozawa very useful in explaining the basics since I need to rationalize the techniques and analyse them before I get them right (according to some seniors not a very wise thing to do in the beginning).
      There is no substitute for a good sensei or quite a few of them actually. Cuz you kinda get a multifaceted view of Kendo from different teachers.
      Hey and best of all Kendo world absolutely ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!