Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Kendo and "real" sword fighting... is there a connection?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kendo and "real" sword fighting... is there a connection?

Well of course there is a connection! I just wrote that to get your attention. However, I am fairly new to Kendo and have noticed something that I do not understand. Being new to Kendo does not mean I am completely naive about the martial arts. I have practices various martial arts and do have some knowledge about them. I've recently started researching Kendo and through that research, I found this very nice site. On some of the videos of Kendo matches, I notice the following things occurring through out the matches:

1. The shinai touch various parts of the opponent's body and no points are given. Sometimes the two opponents will lock shinai at very close distances and slowly seperate. During this seperation, they will touch the points of their shinai on the oponents arms, neck and head.

2. At close distances, there is no kicking.

3. There are no attacks targeting the legs.

Now let's take the first thing I noticed. Why aren't these contacts being called as points? I'm assuming that Kendo is meant to be a way to practice for real sword combat. In real combat, I am sure that such contacts would cause injury, and therefore should be considered a point (imho ofcourse).

No kicking also seems to place arbitrary limitations on what might truly be faced against a real live opponent.

Has Kendo been diluted, like Boxing, for the sake of sport (and/or safety)?