X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Elements of Combat?

Im new to kendo. I do not belong to a dojo as of yet. I have trained in several other martial arts and read many modern and historical theories on combat. I am researching the complicated elements of combat. What details are combined in a fight to create "combat"? This research was initiated after reading The Book of Five Rings. Many do not consider the small details such as posture, footwork, stance, etc. So I'm trying to collect every factor on combat and define how it affects fighting as it does. My list so far:

Mentally:
    the "fighting will"
    training
    tactics
    strategy
    cunning
    Physically:
    athleticism
    Style:
    stance
    footwork
    posture
    weapon familiarty
    Acutal combat:
    offensive maneavers
    defensive maneavers
    reaction
    movement
    combing maneavers into fluid motions/ability to adapt
    Other:
    Understanding your opponent
    Understanding you environment
    Understanding the situation
    Understanding how to handle multiple opponents (if any)
    Understanding your allies (if any)

I will be trying to compile my research mostly for personal use for comparing how each martial art handles these elements. Is there anything that I may be forgetting?

Originally posted by Tsukahara
    Im new to kendo. I do not belong to a dojo as of yet. I have trained in several other martial arts and read many modern and historical theories on combat.
    Uh oh, we got a live one.

I am researching the complicated elements of combat. What details are combined in a fight to create "combat"?
    Ninja powers and stuff.

This research was initiated after reading The Book of Five Rings. Many do not consider the small details such as posture, footwork, stance, etc.
    Ah, so. Could someone hand me the "Smartest Dude who just read The Book of Five Rings" trophy?