Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone hear of this Dojo in NYC?

Hi everyone
    I've been lurking around the forums for a few days now. I've never done Kendo before, although I used to do Kempo karate several years ago.

I am looking at joining a dojo, but the only one that I can go to (as far as I know) is the U.S. Budo Kai Kan, (in NYC). I'm in grad school and all of my classes are evening classes, so I can only go on Fridays, Saturdays or Sundays.

I have been trying to find some information about the school and the teacher, but there doesn't seem to be a lot of info on the net. The teacher is Grandmaster Rico Guy. Does anyone know of the school or the teacher? Are they reputable?

I am a little skeptical because it says (on their website) that they teach classes in two different types of Karate, Iado and Kendo. Can a person be good at that many different things? It says that Grandmaster Rico Guy has high level dans (10th, 8th, etc) in the different ones (8th dan in Kendo I think). Is that sufficient?

I'd appreciate any comments. Thanks!

From the web site:

"All classes are overseen by Chief Grand Master Rico Guy and taught by his highly trained black belts.He is founder and head of the U.S. Budo Kai-Kan celebrating its 30th anniversary. Mr. Guy is ranked as follows: Iaido (samurai sword) 9th degree; Kendo (stickfighting) 8th degree; Goju-Ryu Karate 10th degree; and Go Kempo-Jitsu he is founder and 10th degree."

While I have no personal experience with this Dojo I would run not walk away from it as quickly as possible. NYC has several excellent Dojo's so there is no good reason to accept less. Might I recommend the following possibilities?

http://www.nyckendo.com/

Also Ken Zen's web site is off line but there is excellent instruction available there as well. Ken-Zen Institute 54 Thomas St. New York, NY 10013

Comment

Have you checked the AUSKF dojo locator?