X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dojo Search Near Albany, NY

I realize that there have been several previous threads about this particular area in the past, and I've read them over, but I was hoping I could find some answers here. I searched the AUSKF and other federation sites, and as was stated before, the closest dojos I could find were far south and west.

However, there was one in Schenectady, NY called Meito Kukan. Now, I've looked at their website, but there's no information about where they're located, who the instructor is, or where they practice, etc... I learned by reading something in the archive that the previous teacher left for a dojo in NYC, and the senior member would be the one to contact. So I emailed them a while ago, but no one has responded. Have they closed down? If anyone could tell me anything about this dojo I would really appreciate it.

I am a former student at meitokukan about 10 years ago. You can follow up with Hyuna who used to run the kendo side of things. From the best of my knowledge they are still around as I have seen their iaido students. Perhaps try contacting Stanley Kiyonaga?

Another way might be to try contacting the RPI kendo club. Some of them might still have ties to meitokukan.

Comment

Thanks, I'll try contacting RPI, I have a few friends who are in college there. How would I contact Stanley Kiyonaga or Hyuna?

Comment

Hi,

I just sent you an email response, but I will also respond here.

My Name is Paul Wilson and run the Kendo Half of Meito Kukan in Schenectady. We practice every Sunday from 12:00 to 2:00 or when ever we get done. We are a very small club with no proper Kendo Sensi so we take regular trips to Ken Zen in NYC and Seiz Zen Kai in Amherst. Right now we have a visiting Korean Sensi practicing with us for one more week.

Looking forward to practicing with you
        Paul Wilson

Comment