Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Iaido in Seoul

Hi all,

Not sure if I'm posting in the right place, but hope you guys can give me a hand! I'm spending a few months in a university in S. Korea, and was thinking of starting training in Iaido - Does anyone know of any English/Japanese-speaking (preferably English) schools in or near Seoul?

There don't seem to be any established schools in my home country, Singapore, so I was hoping to get a good foundation down while overseas. If it matters, I have no experience in Kendo and *very* little experience in Aikido.

Thanks in advance for any advice you guys are able to give!

I think Seoul's about the only place you'd find that, but you need to be wary. The kanji for Iaido is commonly read "kuhapdo" in Korean. (On a linguistic note, I can't let go that it SHOULD be written "keohapdo", or even "geohapdo") There are a lot of hapkido schools that advertise "kuhapdo", and they're just as rubbish as the hapkido schools that advertise "kumdo", at least if you're interested in learning IKF/KKA styles. There are schools of Japanese Iaido/Keohapdo in Seoul. Not being an iaido guy myself, I can't say any more than that.

*btw, expecting instruction in either Japanese (!) or English is a road to disappointment.
    Last edited by b8amack; 20th September 2010, 01:09 PM.

Comment

Thanks so much for the advice! Any idea how I should go about looking for a proper school in Seoul though? There doesn't seem to be much information available online in English, and I'm not good enough in Korean to understand half of what comes up in a Korean search engine...

On a related note, about how forgiving would you say Korean schools tend to be toward foreigners who don't speak Korean fluently?

Comment