X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• kenjutsu in vancouver BC ??

does anyone know good kenjutsu dojos in vancouver BC ??

I am going to revive this thread since there are no answers and I would like to know if anyone can answer this after 8 years haha.

I couldn't find much from Googling.

So are there any Kenjutsu dojos in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada?

Thanks!

Comment

The only real way to answer your question is to ask "What do you mean by kenjutsu?" If you mean Japanese sword arts, I know of kendo, MJER iaido, and Hoki ryu iaido. If you mean something else, you'll need to clarify in order for people to be able to try and help you out.

Comment

I'm still quite new to this. I haven't done Kendo or any type of Kenjutsu before so excuse me if I make any silly comments.

From my understanding, Kendo and Kenjutsu are two separate things. Kendo focuses on utilizing a bamboo sword and on striking techniques at specific targets whereas Kenjutsu utilizes bokkens and has a more complete curriculum.

I am looking for the latter. I am also looking for a Kenjutsu dojo that has some sparring aspect to it with the use of bokkens. I am not sure if Iaido would apply to this?

Comment

Hi,

Maybe the closet thing to what you are looking for is the Hoshu Vancouver Dojo - see the CKF website for details. They do jodo but I imagine that the utilise the bokken in the some of the various forms. As to a Kenjutsu school like TSKSR (Tenshin Shoden Katori Shinto-ryu) I don't know...

Comment

From my understanding, Kendo and Kenjutsu are two separate things.
            Actually, no. Kendo has come to mean a specific form of kenjutsu utilizing shinai and bogu, with specific rules under the World Kendo Federation in order to prevent people from be killed.