Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• switching dojos?

Hi All,

This is a bit sensitive possibly, so I thought I'd ask around on this board for advice before I speak to a sensei/make a decision.

I started kendo about 5 years back, but due to work and life circumstances, I haven't been able to regularly attend all the time, with a few long lapses in regular practice. I also had started at one club, but moved to another a few months later because of distance/work timing not allowing me to attend practice punctually at my original club. Now I've moved to another part of the city, and am much closer to my original dojo (where I did 3 months of total noob training), and two others, and now the one I regularly was attending is one of the furthest ones from me. All the dojos are great, I have no other reasons to switch other than distance and time in transit, and tuition fee differences. Surprisingly one is quite expensive compared with normal kendo dues, paying for more practices available per week, which I most likely at this point can't take advantage of.

I really would like to resume kendo, I really miss it, but time and distance and expense are making me consider switching home dojos. Have any of you done this? Is it bad form? Is there etiquette I should be aware of? Any advice? When I first switched I was pretty unaware about it being a problem, only being 3 months in or so.

Thank you all!

PS: Before people ask, yes I'm very busy with work/family. I know many of you travel very far to train, but I need to maximize my time/save money as much as possible.

Most sensei are understanding. If you explain to the sensei of the dojo you can no longer go to what you just posted then that should be acceptable and courteous. The worst is disappearing, not saying anything then being seen inexplicably with another dojo.