Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kendo Beginner moving to Bangkok

Hello Kendo World!

My name is John, and I am 24 years old. I currently live in Chicago, USA, but will be moving to Thailand in October.

I will be doing my best to find a place to do Kendo in Bangkok. From searching it looks like there are definitely some good places to train and most of the people there are actually Japanese. I guess I'm just looking to see if anyone here is a member of a Bangkok dojo. It would be great to know someone a little bit on my first day.

Also wondering; is it bad to cold-call/email a dojo about joining?

=Start Introduction (skip if you want)=
    I have been studying in Aikido for 4 years at Tenshinkan Dojo under Toyoda Sensei. I feel like I'm still a beginning in Aikido, but I recently attained 4th kyu (taking it kind of slow I guess heh)
    I think it's a wonderful dojo and I am very sad to be leaving it.

I have a small amount of experience with Kendo and Iaido.
    At Tenshinkan, I expressed interest in training in Kendo, but the club was on "hiatus". They practice "Haga Dojo" style which is supposed to be rougher and pre-war style Kendo (sounded pretty cool to me, but I've heard it has a bad reputation).

Since I was eager to train, a few of the members started showing up for morning classes. I had the opportunity to train in Kendo, Kenjutsu, and Iaido twice a week at 7am for about 8 months, but it was usually with only 1 other sempai.

The Sensei only showed up for one class, but I will never forget it! I had heard many scary stories about him from others at the dojo, but I didn't think he was a cruel person. The training was very intense, and I fought him. He really kicked my ass and pulled my Men off, but in a very calm way that caught me off guard. I fantasize about fighting him again one day, and maybe making some headway.