X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dojo in tokyo???

hi i was wondering if there were any dojos around the higashi ginza area. I'm only a beginner but i'm looking for somewhere i can practice in for free or just to watch. I've only been doing kendo for 8 months in hawaii. but I haven't gone for the 3 months before i came to japan. longer now that i've been in japan for a couple months or so. if anyone has any info it would be helpful. also, has anyone heard of or have gone to the dojo at the Yokohama police station? just wondering. I was in Yokohama for about 2 months before this and the only place that practiced was the police station. well, thanks.

sorry I cant answer you question about dojos in Japan. However I live in Hawaii also and was wondering which dojo did you go to? I am new to kendo and am thinking of joining a dojo to get some training but I dont know where to go.

Comment

Kanda

Hi there,

I practice at the Chiyoda ward's gym on Tues and Thurs nights, near Kanda station, just a few stops from Ginza. There is a 200 yen entrance fee for residents (350 yen for non-residents), but I don't think they charge if you just want to watch. But it might be tough if you want to practice, because I don't think they take beginners - I've never seen anyone teach beginners in the 1 year that I've been going.

I think most wards' public gyms have kendo. I also heard that Chuo ku's gym used to teach beginners, including foreign students, so you might want to check into that as well.

Comment

Originally posted by bubbles35