X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from Columbus, Ohio (USA)

Hi everyone... so glad that I stumbled onto this place!

I'm a 36 year old looking to start training again. I studied in college at the Chicago Kendo Dojo in the Buddhist Temple of Chicago on Leland, and loved that group. When I left the city to start my family and career I was unable to find a place to keep practicing, but I find myself missing kendo every week of evetry month of every year. While researching some kendo terms' spelling I found this place and thought I'd give finding a new dojo a stab (so to speak).

Can anyone suggest a dojo or group in Columbus?

Thanks!

Columbus Kendo

Just so happens I was born and raised in Columbus. Here is a link to the OSU Kendo club in Columbus, OH.

http://osukic.org.ohio-state.edu/

Ohio State University, Class located at Larkin Hall near the OSU campus. I can get you directions but be warned there is a lot construction in the area.

The bad part is you are at the mercy of the Universities class schedule.

Saturdays are our only permenantly scheduled days during the summer. Classes begin at 10:30am through 2pm. The 10 -2 class is very traditional there is another Kendo class at 2pm which is modern kendo both classes are great. The traditional class from 10-2pm also teaches Iaido.

Hope this helps.

R-S Luis, mailto:rodsan1234@hotmail.com <-- Good person to email if you want more info.

Good luck
    Craig

Comment

Go for it, Imago! Have we met? I'm from Detroit and have visitied Chicago for the past six years or so for kendo events.

Comment

Wow. Yaay! A club right in my area! And practice on the weekends! Could this GET any better? I'll email who you recommended and see what happens.