X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first Shinsa!

Greetings! I have been practicing Kendo for a few months now, and was just informed yesterday that I should test at the next Shinsa in two weeks. There are a few of us new guys testing, and we are all a little nervous.

Is anyone else attending/has attended the EUSKF Shinsa, coming up in two weeks (I think its Dec 3rd)? What should we expect? There are three of us going who have not earned our bogu. It may be a little early for us to test, but as our testing only comes up once a year, and Sensei believed we wouldn't be wasting our time and money, he said we should go for the experience and maybe to earn at least some rank.

He said Kata would not be expected of us, I have seen some things saying that some places do test Kata. I probably could pull off 1-3, but its been a while for some of them...

I have also heard our Hakama must be ironed and well pleated etc. I washed mine after I first wore it, and have never managed to get the pleats back into it nicely...the creases pretty much vanished except where they are sewn at the top. I have a fairly cheap tetron hakama. Can one iron a tetron hakama? Should I starch it?

It was really a surprise that I was asked to test, I was expecting to wait until the next Shinsa a year from now. But, Sensei has been doing this for quite a while, and if he thinks I am ready, I'll have faith in his judgement.

I'm not looking for ways to "cram" for my test...just curious about what to expect, any no-nos that first timers do, and the like.

Thanks for any help!

FWIW, I've never seen or heard of anyone testing without bogu.

Comment

Originally posted by MyrddinWyllt View Post
      Greetings! I have been practicing Kendo for a few months now, and was just informed yesterday that I should test at the next Shinsa in two weeks.
      Hello and welcome to the forums!