How to know when you know?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to know when you know?

Hi guys, my first ever post on here so forgive me for any errors in my post.

I have been training in kendo for 3 years now, I train heavily, and so over the course of about two years I was able to make it to first kyu.
    Then last November, I went for my Shodan, I was confident in my ability to pass, as my Sensei was confident that my preperation was sufficient.
    I passed my written exam, my katas, and all my wazas. Then came the sparring. I was ok for my first few rounds, but at around the fifth round, my body really started to feel it, and I knew that this was the point at which I had to let my mind take over, and carry me through the pain.
    Another five rounds later, and I was spent, but I still had my kakari-geiko to perform. I did my best, kept my kiai strong, my spirit up, and pushed through the pain for as long as I could, but being already exhausted meant that my body just couldn't keep up with my mind, and my technique started to decline.
    By the end of the grading I was physically drained beyond anything I had ever felt before, and as a result of the decline in my technique, I failed my grading.
    Evidently I was devastated, this was my first failed grading, but I have only let my failure harden my resolve.
    However, with the opportunity to go for my grading again getting nearer, I have begun to doubt as to whether or not I'm ready this time. I am much fitter than I was in my first attempt, but I'm not sure if my mind is strong enough to carry me through the pain again.
    My other main issue is, when I went for it the first time, I was quite confident, not cocky, but I felt I was well prepared, but my interpretation of prepared proved to mean nothing.
    So my question to you guys is, how do you know when your self confidence is well placed, how do you know when you know you're ready?