X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nervous candidate.

I thought that would try this one out. What do fellow kendokas think ? I have been doing kendo for 4 years now and I am about to attempt my nikyu test. I haven't had had much feedback, and I don't have a Sensei at the moment. I seemed to have handled the previous tests well ( I was asked after 4th kyu to attempt 3rd and I passed).

Can anyone tell me what to expect for nikyu , and is it right to be more nervous before this test than any of the others..

Cheers Bob.

hello bob, (I can assume your name is bob right) welcome to k-w
    First if you are doing kendo for four years you are most likely ready for passing to nikyu, although it all depends on how much and if you trained regularely.

But may I be so bold as to inquire where you are from, because from the various discussions on the forum, it seems that grading-costums somewhat differ from one country to another. It also depends if your nikkyu is awarded by your sensei in your dojo or a federation or so.
    I believe your sensei will no doubt make sure you know what is gonna come on the exam, not the exact details offcourse, but I think he wil surely tell you what to give attention too.

Anyways from my very recent expierience with passing to nikkyu I can say that it's just the same as sankyu but better, faster and more accurate.

Comment

Thanks for the welcome. I am from australia. I have just had a look around the site and found that grading systems are quite different around the world Thanks guys.. In my experince I have found that there isn't much difference between the grades but your execution has to be better..

Comment

Which state are you from mate?

Comment

NSW, Mate..

Comment

Ahh...you're referring to the grading to be held next month during Founder's Cup?

Taken from the NSW Kendo Association's website on grading requirement:

2.3.9 Nikyu Grading Technical Requirements

Kiri-Kaeshi