Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Failed Kyu Grading

This is a general random thought, but would appreciate the input
    after so many years our club finally decided to do Kyu, i have been doing Kendo for 2 years now, and they told me i had to grade for the 4th Kyu. Long Story short, i was paired with a a young boy, who is slightly more than half of my height and weight no more than q uarter of my weight, keeping in mind i am 184cm and 110KG in previous Keikos, i once almost ran him over and stepped on him, during men-uchi as his movement was slow compared to me.

During Grading, I have taken it slow as not to hurt him, making me look sloppy, hitting men-uchi was between men and kote, more towards kote, and kote was quite low, and do-uchi that was a challenge, i know i should not make excuses, but some people i mentored have advanced higher than me now, and i am debating the below
    1. was it the correct decision to go easy?
    2. or am i really slow and sloppy, that I am a lost cause.

I am now very demotivated.

Thanks for any useful comments and guidance.

You are not a lost cause. Forget that kind of thinking.

It sounds like you had an unfortunate pairing for Shinsa. This happens. I've seen kenshi fail a Shinsa due to problems with the partner.

You probably made the best decision you could at the time. Failing 4th Kyu is rather curious, but we can't see a video or such to really know why.

So, forget it. Put it behind you. Go to keiko and try again in six months.

Comment

It is odd to fail 4th kyu. In my experience they'd normally just give you a lower rank (5 kyu) instead. Perhaps that's just our federation.

You should be able to get feedback from the panel. They'll tell you what you were doing incorrectly.