X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What you need to know for.....

I've been doing Kendo for a few months, and will probably be taking my first exam for 1kyu sometime in November.

Anyways, I've looked but couldn't seem to find any real defintion, or guidline as to what a certain grade level kendoka should know. Things like, a 1kyu should know _____waza, and ___kata, and other misc. stuff.

So for starters, what waza and kata should a kendoka know and understand, and be able to preform reasonalbly well to be considered, or pass an 1kyu examination? What do you need to know to go to sho-dan?

I think for ikkyu, you have to know the first 3 kata. Other than that, I really don't know much else. I want to take my ikkyu exam later this year as well.

You may want to check the AJKF website to see if they have it there.

Comment

Going for ikkyu after only a few months????
      I'm going for mine in October, after 15 months training.

Katas 1-3 are required, and obviously all kihon, footwork, good kiri kaeshi.

Can anyone else exapnd on this?

Comment

Originally posted by Benegizer
        I've been doing Kendo for a few months, and will probably be taking my first exam for 1kyu sometime in November.

Anyways, I've looked but couldn't seem to find any real defintion, or guidline as to what a certain grade level kendoka should know. Things like, a 1kyu should know _____waza, and ___kata, and other misc. stuff.

So for starters, what waza and kata should a kendoka know and understand, and be able to preform reasonalbly well to be considered, or pass an 1kyu examination? What do you need to know to go to sho-dan?
        Requirements for grading in Japan are determined at prefecture level, so ask your teacher, as it may vary. For ikkyu (in Japan), you probably just need to turn up.

Jakob

Comment

testing

"So for starters, what waza and kata should a kendoka know and understand?"

The most important thing is to show up on time.