X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• signature translation?

hey all, i am new to the sword world and have been browsing the net when i came across this sight so i thought i would give it a try.
    i recently came across two swords that seem to have a fair age to them, i am told around 100-150 years but nothing confirmed.
    so here i am. i know probably the least amount about swords than anyone you can think of lol so i am asking for help.
    can anyone translate these pic's for me or tell me what style it is?, there is 4 pic's of the signatures, (two for each sword)
    first sword:

and:

second sword:

and:

and i also have another question... just above the Tsuba on both of the swords are some number's that bave been stamped into them. does anyone know what these numbers mean?

anyways i am only just starting to get into them so please don't flame me for my incompetance :-(
    any help on any of my questions would be greatly apreciated or even advice on where to go for help.
    here are some other pic's for those interested.

I don't know if anyone here has the knowledge to help you directly but maybe you could try contacting the token society.

The UK one is here http://www.to-ken.com/

Alternatively...

JAPANESE SWORD SOCIETY OF AUSTRALIA, INC. - Regular meetings at the Concordia Club Ltd., 231 Stanmore Rd. Standmore NSW. Newsletter published, Alan Morton, President P.O. BoxA316, Sydney South NSW 1235.

But I don't know if those details are correct.

Good Luck

Comment

Hi Dennis

I don't know much about swords either, but a small photo tip, find the little flower icon on your camera and select it. This is the macro focus function, and lets you focus at very close range, say less than 10cm. You won't be able to use Flash at that range though, so take the pics during the day using daylight.

As for advice, you could try Sword Forum.

HTH

b

Comment