X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unnatural Kendo Movements

I found this article, written by Takaoka Jiro.
    The actual article is very long, and so I only included the first segment of it.
    Wonder what everyone thinks?

__________________________________________________ ________________

The Unnatural Movements on (Modern) Kendo.

When I (Author: Takaoka Jiro) was young, I enjoyed watching Samurai sword-fighting shows, and I wanted to be as cool, swinging those swords. This is why I joined a Kendo school. This was when I was still in primary school.

When I was still a child, I thought of Kendo as a strange sports. I was taught that Kendo was practiced by Samurai who wanted to be strong in Kenjutsu (live-blade swordsmanship), using Shinai (bamboo sword) and Bogu (protective gear).
    I proudly thought to myself, "Oh, so this is the same kind of Kendo that Samurai used to practice in the past." when I was a primary school student, and my heart raced when I thought I was experiencing the same kind of real sword action as I've seen in the movies/TV.

However when I was started Kendo, I couldn't hide the disappointment on my face. The movements in Kendo was clearly different from the sword-fights that I've seen on television. I couldn't see how Kendo was an accurate reflection of a real sword-fight, and I started to have many doubts.

Firstly, when is that we must always move with our right-leg forward, left-leg backward?
    Why are we always making strikes while jumping forward and backward? (This was how I saw it at the time.)
    Secondly, when can we only strike at Men, Kote and Dou?
    Thirdly, even in cases where the strike leaves a swell/bruises, why doesn't it score a point sometimes?
    And there were still more doubts.