Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How many people practice Kendo in the USA?

I'm new to Kendo. This question has come up a time or two when I tell people about it.
    Thanks

The 2010 AUSKF Membership was about 4,672 paid members. My understanding is that France, Germany, Britain, and China are larger with 6,000 or more members each. I do not have the numbers for Hawaii, which needs to be added to get a true total for the US.

In the AUSKF there are about 340 people with the kendo rank between 5-8 dan, and 30 with the iaido rank between 5-7 dan. The breakdown for 4, 5, 6, and 7 dan kendo holders is consistent with <30% of each group being US Citizens.

Comment

I believe the UK kendo population is around 1000...certainly nowhere near 6000.

Comment

Hi,

In France, the number of paid members for the kendo alone is around 5200 and the french federation count around 9000 members (1800 for iai, 1200 for chanbara, 500 for jodo and somewhere in the hundred for naginata and kyudo)

++

Comment

French federation has chanbara? that's exciting.

Comment

The number of people who practice kendo in the USA is nebulous. Membership in the AUSKF is not a particularly accurate indicator. As you here are aware, many members drop out within weeks or months of starting practice, others years later. In 2010 the AUSKF cumulative numerical membership count had clicked over 11,000. Subtracting 4,672 paid members tells us that some 6,000+ others did not renew their membership in 2010. In our dojo alone, which fluctuates between 30-40 members, 22 of those that paid up in 2010 have either quit or moved away (two that moved are still active in another federation). On paper our dojo still has about 38 paid members, due to newcomers coming in, but I would guess only a little over half that number renew next year.

Comment

Originally posted by JSchmidt View Post