Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Book Recommendations

Hi all!!!

I'm new to the forum and new to Kendo as well.

If anyone knows of any good Kendo Books - I would be especially interested in that. But post any book you've read (recently or otherwise) that you enjoyed and would like to recommend to others.

"Moving Toward Stillness", Dave Lowry - i think this is a 'how you should look at your art' book.

"Autumn Lightning", Dave Lowry - i really enjoyed the historical references in this one.

"Zen In The Martial Arts", Joe Hyams - short but I still thought it was good.

I'm new to Kendo as well. A dojo mate recommended 'Kendo: The Definitive Guide' which I picked up at my local bookstore.

I found the book a nice introduction to Kendo and it quickly made practice make more understandable. There is so much to Kendo and starting out is very overwhelming. This book will continue to help guide me along. Highly recommended.

Here's the Amazon link:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...232778-4715848
    Last edited by chindogu; 18th January 2005, 10:15 AM.

Comment

'Complete Kendo' by John J. Donohue

It's an awesome book that talks about many of Kendo's techniques and philosophies, along with the history and developement of the art and its equipment. It is put together in the same way as The Book of Five Rings, making it easy to navigate through and understand.

Comment

The book 'Kendo: Elements, Rules, and Philosophy' by Jinichi Tokeshi is also a nice book for the beginner. It goes through the basics such reiho (ettiquite) and equipment care. They also talk about Shiai rules, waza, Kendo history and famous people within the sword arts community. One problem I have with it though is that there are drawings used instead of real pictures. While it does get the point across, the drawings are too basic to capture the subtleties of the demonstrations.

Comment

I agree!