Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shinai lifespan

Dear fellow kendoka,

Got a couple of shinais in the last few months. I payed 30 euro's a piece (for 2 of them) and i ordered a new one last week (at e-bogu, the "obaru koban gata" oval grip dobari) which was 65$ (about the same in euros). The first one i got splintered already after the first few hits. The second one I have been training with for 3 months now and i had to sand it after every training. Due to this, one of the parts is 1/3th smaller and I will stop using it after my new arrives (it just bashes into splinters). A bit strange that these things last so short espec since some people on this forum use them for a year (1 training a season?), hope the more expensive one lasts longer. Anyone with the same experience? Are the 30-40 euro/$ ones just poor quality and are the 65$ ones a lot better or has it something to do with my technique (as far as possible, my sensei expects me to hit men's a lot and so i do).

Isn't it time for titanium shinai's ?

Regards,

Louis

Titanium? no But there are Carbon Fiber Shinai's.

Comment

Titanium

I know, it was a joke. I wouldnt recomend titanium on a bamboo do or an aloy mengane. Can imagine it hurts being hit by one of them. Wouldnt use a shinken for kendo practice neither (unless im the only one )

Comment

Originally posted by louisvandalen
        Dear fellow kendoka,